NICER

  • NICER

    Networked Infrastructureless Cooperation for Emergency Response

NICER – Networked Infrastructureless Cooperation for Emergency Response

Crises, disasters and major catastrophic events are triggered by the forces of nature, human or technical failure or violence and terrorism. They present a threat to human life, public safety in the area concerned and interregional economics. Technical infrastructures are damaged or destroyed.

The LOEWE research cluster NICER (Networked Infrastructureless Cooperation for Emergency Response) is exploring how infrastructureless information and communications technology can establish links between people in the event of a crisis, thus enabling them to work together to overcome the crisis.

To that end, NICER focuses on three main research areas: (1) setting up autonomous, decentralised and robust “communication islands”, (2) constructing “communication bridges” between communication islands and (3) operating an “overall network” of services and applications to enable cooperation in the crisis situation.

For the areas referred to above, NICER is developing basic scientific and technological principles with a view to bringing about a dramatic increase in the long-term performance of infrastructurless communication. Where large-scale, complex damage has been caused and despite infrastructure collapse, NICER thus enables cooperation to take place between the people directly affected as well as between those people and the rescue workers and technical rescue and relief systems, such as rescue robots.


Partners

  • Technische Universität Darmstadt
  • University of Kassel
  • Philipps-Universität Marburg

Subject areas

  • Informatics
  • Electrical Engineering and Information Technology

NICER

  • NICER

    Infrastrukturlose Kommunikation in Krisenfällen

  • NICER

    Infrastrukturlose Kommunikation in Krisenfällen

NICER – Vernetzte infrastrukturlose Kooperation zur Krisenbewältigung

Krisen, Katastrophen und Großschadensereignisse werden durch Naturgewalt, menschliches oder technisches Versagen sowie Gewalt und Terror ausgelöst. Sie bedrohen Menschenleben, die öffentliche Sicherheit im betroffenen Gebiet und die Wirtschaft überregional. Technische Infrastrukturen werden dabei beschädigt oder fallen aus.

Der LOEWE-Schwerpunkt NICER (von Englisch „Networked Infrastructureless Cooperation for Emergency Response“) erforscht, wie infrastrukturlose Informations- und Kommunikations-technologie im Krisenfall Menschen vernetzen und damit eine Kooperation zur Bewältigung der Krise ermöglichen kann.

Hierzu konzentriert sich NICER auf drei Leitthemen: (1) Die Etablierung autonomer, dezentraler und robuster „Kommunikationsinseln“, (2) den Aufbau von „Kommunikationsbrücken“ zwischen Kommunikationsinseln sowie (3) den Betrieb eines „Gesamtnetzes“ mit Diensten und Anwendungen zur Ermöglichung einer Kooperation in der Krisensituation.

Für die genannten Themen erarbeitet NICER wissenschaftliche und technologische Grundlagen, um langfristig die Leistungsfähigkeit von infrastrukturloser Kommunikation drastisch zu erhöhen. Damit ermöglicht NICER für großflächige und komplexe Schadenslagen – trotz Infrastrukturausfall – die Kooperation zwischen den direkt betroffenen Menschen sowie zwischen diesen und Rettungskräften und auch technischen Rettungs- und Hilfssystemen, beispielsweise Rettungsrobotern.


Partner

  • Technische Universität Darmstadt
  • Universität Kassel
  • Philipps-Universität Marburg

Fachrichtungen

  • Informatik
  • Elektrotechnik und Informationstechnik